Drought disasters occurred in seven provinces in Indonesia with details is 79 regencies. Potential loss due to drought in various regions in Indonesia has reached Rp 3 trillion: Photo by Special

Jakarta (TheInsiderStories) – Drought occurred seven provinces in Indonesia, with details 79 regencies comprising of 1,969 villages in 556 districts. Potential loss due to the drought recorded Rp3 trillion (US$214.29 million), National Disaster Management Agency‘ spokesman Agus Wibowo told TheInsiderStories on Tuesday (07/16).

He revealed, highest drought potential occurred in West Java, East Java, Central Java, DI Yogyakarta, Bali, West Nusa Tenggara, and East Nusa Tenggara until October 2019.

“In some regions that drought up to 60 days will use artificial rain.  The Agency also make water-saving campaign,” said Wibowo.

Meanwhile, Eko Putro Sandjojo, Minister of Village, Development of Disadvantaged Regions and Transmigration said the potential loss resulted in the drying of 3.7 hectares agricultural land in few regions. Therefore, his ministry asked the agency to use Technology Assessment and Application to evaluate artificial rain on agricultural land.

“Artificial rain can reduce economic losses up to Rp2.4 trillion,” he told media after limited meeting in President Office, Jakarta.

In the meeting, President Joko Widodo requested his ministers to anticipated the drought effects. He noted, based on data from Meteorology, Climatology and Geophysics Agency, it was seen that dry season would take place from August to September.

“Some areas have also experienced drought, 21 days without rain. It means that status is alert when 31 days without rain. Also status is alert when 61 days without rain. It mean the status is stand by” Widodo said on Monday (15/07).

Beside drought issues, Indonesia also experienced earthquakes all over the archipelago. Today, the region of Bali Southern Indian Ocean is rocked by tectonic earthquakes. Meteorology, Climatology and Geophysics Agency reported that initial information on Bali earthquake was 6.0 SR.

Earthquake Epicenter is located at 9.08 South Latitude and 114.55 East Longitude, or precisely located at sea at a distance of 80 kilometers (km) south of Kota Negara, Jembrana Regency, Bali Province at a depth of 104 km.

Furthermore, the earthquake is caused by subduction activity of Indo-Australian Plate which infiltrates under Eurasian Plate. Bali earthquake did not have tsunami potential.

“Base on analysis results that earthquake source was generated by rock deformation with a mechanism of oblique thrust fault,” said the agency

Previously, two people died and 2,000 displaced due to a 7.2 magnitude earthquake in 62 kilometers (km) northeast of Labuha, South Halmahera, North Maluku on Sunday, July 14.

Wibowo says the earthquake had no tsunami potential. But, local government sets the disaster emergency response period for seven days from 15 to 21 July, he said.

“The damage and number of victims are still being monitored,” he said in Jakarta on Monday (07/15) at his office.

Written by Willy Matrona, Email: theinsiderstories@gmail.com