Indonesia to ban travelers from Iran, Italy, and South Korea after World Health of Organization (WHO) reported there are a significant increase COVID-19 spread at the three countries - Photo MoFA Office

JAKARTA (TheInsiderStories) – Indonesia to ban travelers from Iran, Italy, and South Korea after World Health of Organization (WHO) reported there are a significant increase COVID-19 spread at the three countries. The policy will start to implementing starting March. 8.

According to foreign minister Retno Marsudi, travelers entry and transit to Indonesia need a health certificate. The new policy will be applied for migrants who in the last 14 days traveled in the regions of Tehran, Qom, and Gilan in Iran.

She adds, for all migrants from Iran, Italy and South Korea, a health certificate is needed issued by the health authorities in each country. The certificate must be valid and shown to the airline at check-in. She continued, without a health certificate from the competent health authority, these migrants will be refused entry or transit in Indonesia.

Then from Lombardi, Veneto, Emilia Romagna, Marche and Piedmont regions in Italy. And, the visitors comes from Gyeongsangbuk-do and Daegu in South Korea.

Before landing, migrants from the three countries must fill out a Health Alert Card prepared by the ministry of health of Indonesia. The card includes questions about travel history, among others.

If from the travel history, the person concerned has traveled within the last 14 days to one of the regions we mentioned earlier, then they will be refused entry or transit in the country.

“Then, for Indonesian citizens who have traveled from the three countries, especially from the regions that I mentioned earlier, an additional health check will be conducted at the arrival airport,” said the minister.

On Feb. 13, ministry of trade has temporarily stops live animals import from or have transited in China to Indonesia. The new policy outlined in the Minister of Trade Regulation Number 10 of 2020 concerning Temporary Import Prohibition of Live Animals from China. This rule comes into force since Feb. 7.

The types of animals which are prohibited consist of 53 tariff items, including horse, donkey, pigs, sheep, goats, poultry, ducks, turkeys, and other living animals that are breastfeeding. The import ban also includes live animals in carousel, swing, shooting gallery, other amusement park games, live animals in the traveling circus, menagerie, and theater.

This regulation, said Suparmanto, is also a form of protection of human and animal health, which is the responsibility of the government and is inline with Article XX of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade 1994 of the World Trade Organization.

Previously, the World Health Organization has declared the spread of the coronavirus originating from Wuhan, China, as the Public Health Emergency of International Concern.

The Southeast largest economy itself has prepared its readiness to deal with the outbreak. President has asked his staff to carefully calculate the impact of implementing the policies adopted by the government regarding this matter.

The reasoned, in the trade sector, China became the first export destination country with a market share of approximately 16.6 percent of Indonesia’ total exports. The neighboring country is also known to be the largest country of origin of imports for the nation.

by Linda Silaen, Email: